The Dordogne department is a huge area, spread out over the plateaus of the Périgord. The east of the Dordogne is the beginning of the Massif Central, flattening westwards towards the plains of Saintonge and Guyenne. Several rivers cross this department: the Bandiat, the Dronne, the Isle, the Auvézère, the Dordogne, the Vézère and the Dropt.

Many forests cover the west part like the Landais and the forest of the Double. This means that the Dordogne offers a large variety of nature and landscapes. The capital of the department is Périgueux and the three main towns of the administrative divisions are Bergerac, Nontron and Sarlat la Caneda. It is the birth place of the “troubadours”, of Montaigne and La Boétie, of Fénelon, Eugène le Roy and also of André Maurois.

Agriculture is the main activity in the Dordogne. In the north of the department mainly bovine breeding farms, the rest and biggest part of the Dordogne associates cereal cultivation with breeding farming. Strawberries find their land in the valley of the river Dordogne and many famous wines come from grapes in the area of Bergerac and Monbazillac. Walnuts, truffles and foie gras are precious products from this region.

The Périgord owns the most historical monuments of France (after Paris). Because of his rich past, especially concerning the prehistory (Lascaux, Les Eyzies) and his fine gastronomic specialties the Dordogne certainly earns to be a touristic department.


Dordogne Périgord - Lat: 44:58:27N (44.97428) Lon: 1:11:14E (1.18715)
Tél 05 53 59 10 95 - Fax 05 53 29 47 56 -